Best way of hacking prevention?

Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:52 pm

Recenty my home biz website was hacked. They changed my home page via the Wordpress theme file.

My host advised me to change the theme, which I did. I've changed all my passwords on the host and on Wordpress, but I know there's a likelihood of it happening again. I find all instructions I find about it go right over my head as I am not technically minded.

Does anyone know the best way of making your website more secure?

Ros
writer-ros

Sat May 01, 2010 9:43 pm

search your directories. See if files are "open"... i.e. exposed. If they are you can upload a blank index.html to that directory.

Most hackers are just exploiting known loopholes... so keep your software up to date.

There is plenty of good information found by searching this phrase: "how to secure wordpress"
InternetMarketingIQ

Wed May 05, 2010 9:10 am

Thanks for this.

I have upgraded Wordpress to the latest version and I will check my directories.

Someone sent me a link to a website all about hacking and what to do about it - but I found the instructions so complicated and "technical" for my poor brain that I didn't feel I had done enough.

Cheers

Ros
writer-ros

Wed May 05, 2010 2:51 pm

You cannot make your site 100% hacker proof. Nobody can. But you can make it so difficult to get access that hackers leave your site and go to the next one.

In fact, we speak about 'hackers', but it's not the correct term.

Once a 'hacker' was a very bright computer user, who would do 'hacks', which could be short cuts or small programs to easy the daily work, or just for fun.

Most of what we call 'hackers' today, are just script kiddies. They find free scripts online to exploit loopholes in free scripts as WordPress, Joomla and others.

They have little knowledge about what they are doing. In fact, they are just running a script, somebody else made for them.

So they are pretty easily stopped, if you put up the right gates.