Anyone good with headlines

Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:46 pm

I am new to writing sales copy for websites and I am looking for feedback on three headlines/subheads I?m considering. Any of these make you want to find out more? Which one would you use for a viral marketing tool?

1. Headline: "The Good Old Days Of Easy Sales On The Internet Are Over?"
Subhead: Unless You Effectively Use The Only Two Marketing Methods That Have NEVER FAILED Since The Start Of The Internet!

2. Headline: Discover A Revolutionary New Way To Effectively Use The Only Two Marketing Methods That Have NEVER FAILED Since The Start Of The Internet!
Subhead: Find Out Why 95% Of What You Have Learned About Internet Marketing Is No Longer Effective!

3. Headline: Drive So Much Traffic To Your Website Its Server Goes Into Meltdown And Your Hosting Provider Begs You To Stop Marketing. But Even If You Wanted To, You Can?t.
Subhead: Stop Using Outdated Marketing Methods And Discover A Revolutionary New Way To Use The Only Two Marketing Methods That Have NEVER FAILED Since The Start Of The Internet.

4. Headline: Wish Your Marketing Message Would Spread As Quickly As A Cold Virus In A Room Full Of Snot-Nosed Kids?
Subhead: Stop Using Outdated Marketing Methods And Discover How To Spread Your Marketing Message Easily, Rapidly, and Cheaply.
timbrux

Re: Anyone good with headlines

Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:38 pm

timbrux wrote:I am new to writing sales copy for websites and I am looking for feedback on three headlines/subheads I?m considering. Any of these make you want to find out more? Which one would you use for a viral marketing tool?

Why are you asking us to analyse what we think we'd like, when you can easily split test what we'll really react to best?

I suggest you put the three main headlines as clickable links in your sig, and compare clickthrough rates. If you want to take it further, you can make the landing page a set of different clickable subheadings, which all lead to the final content page.