How to convert existing website to Wordpress?

Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:04 pm

I have a poorly (but free :P ) designed website that I would like to convert to Wordpress. I've got very little technical knowledge when it comes to website design, and usually fumble my way through things. I've got two questions that perhaps one of you techie's can help me with:

1. The inside pages on my site get good rankings in Google, so when I convert to Wordpress I want to keep each page on the same domain/directory. By that I mean that I want to keep the part after the .com/ on my site the same (I think that is called "directory", so that is what I will call it here. Each directory ends in .php. Example: http://travelsitecritic.com/Vayama.php.
Is there a Wordpress plug-in that will allow me to change the directory name to "Vayama.php" in Wordpress? I was testing out the All in One SEO plug-in, which allows me to change the directory name on posts, but it does not allow me to add the .php to the end of it. Instead it adds "-php". If Wordpress does not have this capability, please let me know, as this will save me a ton of time. Is there another free blogging/content management software that I should use instead?
Would it be better for me to redirect my site with a plug-in such as http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/domain-change/ ? I am afraid redirects are bad for SEO purposes. Is it?

2. Is there a way to build my website on Wordpress in the background (on a subdomain or something), and then instantly publish it to the main domain http://travelsitecritic.com when it is all done? I've got many, many pages, so it is going to take a significant amount of time to transfer and I do not want to do it live online.

Again, as you can likely tell, I do not have much techie knowledge, so please dumb down your advice for me. I appreciate any advice you may have. Thanks!!
peejay

Re: How to convert existing website to Wordpress?

Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:06 pm