How to succeed in Affiliate Marketing

Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:50 am

I have been doing affiliate marketing for the last 4-5 years. I have joined CJ.com, Clickbank.com and other merchants affiliate programs. Now the main problem is getting traffic to my site and there is not a single sale that I am able to do. I am not able to get good amount of visitors visiting my site. Friends, could you suggest some of the best ways of getting traffic. My main motive is to succeed in affiliate marketing and do well.
iyers

Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:34 pm

You've done the exact same thing nearly everyone who is new does... and it almost always leads to failure.

You built a house before you knew if there were any renters in the marketplace.

What you need to do is find the market!

A good place to start is with serious keyword research. Most people try to get traffic by trying to rank. So they waste a ton of time trying to get links everywhere. Links that ultimately bring in little traffic.

If I were in your position I would research all the top keyword tools... I use Keyword Research Pro ... which is nothing more than an interface to Google Adwords Keyword tool and some other free tools like Keyword Discovery, etc. I use it because Google has the backend data you want.

But back to the point I'm trying to make. Keyword tools won't do you any good until you learn how to use them. So go find all the popular tools then do this... WATCH ALL THE TUTORIALS. Watch them from the perspective of learning how to identify the keywords you want. You can learn so much from just watching how the tools work.

Once you have a good understanding of how to find your keywords... back up.

Now here is a trick most people will not tell you about and you can leverage for yourself.

Low volume highly targeted keyword phrases can bring you traffic all by themselves. But you need to learn how to use them. They need to appear as the Title of your Articles. Then you need to get a few links back to that article.