wordpress vs html

Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:00 am

Hi guys,

The last time i asked a question here about wordpress vs. websites, i didn't know a thing about wordpress. Now, i have a client who is asking which of the two is best for SEO.

Can someone tell me if it matters if i build a site selling the client's products on wordpress or an html website. Does Google's spiders crawl better on wordpress? What are the pros and cons of both?
informer

Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:52 pm

I'm not an expert, but I belive that the general consensus is that Wordpress is best.

I would be interested to hear other people's view though.

Ros
writer-ros

Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:55 am

Depends on the purpose of your site. If you are building an ecommerce site the WordPress is not the right tool in most cases.

However WordPress allows you to do some things very easily and opens up an entire world of promtional opportunities in the BlogShere.

For example with a few simple plugins you can set up your pinging so that with each new article you post all the ping services are notified automatically.

You can ping your Static Sites... but not with this ease.

WordPress gains you admission into Blog Directories.

I'm tired... but the point is there is so much more you can do with WordPress for the average site that it's just too hard to overlook. I now do almost all of my Development on WordPress.

And you can not undervalue the potential of commenting which is built in to the WordPress Platform and makes it easy for you to communicate with customers that might otherwise just leave.

I'm actually in the Process of converting Internet Marketing IQ to WordPress... and I love Joomla, but the value of comments and the ease of automating certain features ... made me abandon Joomla for this particular project.
InternetMarketing_IQ

Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:55 am

Thanks quest.