What is the appropriate way to advertise a product on forums

Sun Aug 10, 2008 11:40 pm

Hi, I am new to affiliate marketing and just joined moreniche. Even thou I spent a week online researching. I do not understand the step by step ways of doing everything. According to MN first was emailing my friends I choose not to do that next is to put link code and advertisment text in forums. I do not understand. Any help would be much appreciated. By the way I love your sight. You have made it possiable for me to understand the concept of affiliate marketing. Before I had no idea! Thank You
Smithsowninn

Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:26 am

When promoting stuff on forums, your first step is to try to figure out what's going on in the minds of the people who read whatever you write.

For example, if you're promoting a weight loss product, the appropriate place to do so would be on a forum which discusses weight loss. Those people are actively looking for the information you're providing.

Here are 5 ways to promote affiliate products in forums:

Technique 1. The most basic way to promote stuff on forums is to do what you've done above, using a teaser signature file - as long as the forum allows affiliate links in signature files. Some forums do, some don't. It's allowed here.

You could improve your signature by doing a spellcheck - "comsumning" needs fixing. (I use Firefox and automatically spellcheck as I type stuff on our forum.)

You could also improve your signature by making the affiliate link look less obvious - display words instead of the affiliate link. To discover how to do that, go to Profile, scroll down to the signature box and click on the "BB Code" link.

The big disadvantage of technique No.1 is that it's very much like having a job. You're working to build someone else's business, not your own. To me, that's a shortsighted strategy.