A James Martell forum with no faith in James Martell?

Sat May 27, 2006 2:33 pm

Hi people. I'm new here. :)

Just wanted to say that I am a newbie at building affiliate websites and I am currently developing my first site following the JM handbook. I'm at the stage now where I need inbound links and many, many more (quality) articles. It's being done slowly, but surely.

I noticed in the other thread 'Loyalty has a price' that many expressed their distrust with James Martell. When I say that, I'm actually talking more about the process of building winning websites as oppose to the apparent zero-value buzz subscription and pricey updates.

And I'll be honest with you - I'm feeling a little discouraged now that I've read all this. It's taken me some effort to even get to the stage I'm at, and now that I'm slowly getting in the game, I'm enjoying the process. But since reading posts here, I feel like I'm at the starting point again.

Especially when people say things like 'JM methods don't work anymore'. Is that the truth? Is there any point in following his methods now? Is there even any point of this forum? I'm just thinking out aloud.

Please go easy on me. I don't mean to sound angry. I'm actually a little sad. :?
Sham Rele

Sat May 27, 2006 4:22 pm

The Martell book has good beginning fundamentals - but for most sites, it takes a lot longer for things to get going than you might expect from reading his book and hearing the buzz.

Also, if you are wanting solid long-term success with a site, it needs to be VERY high quality - don't just write fluff articles - and if you ever expect it to be on Google, it'll need some great links pointing to it, links from places like DMOZ, .gov's, and other authority sites. So when you write, imagine the content being reviewed by human editors and ask yourself if it's good enough and unique enough for them to have no reason to turn it down.